Desmond Dekker - Essential Artist Collection 2xLP

Desmond Dekker - Essential Artist Collection 2xLP

  • $38.00
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The original King of Reggae, Desmond Dekker introduced the sound of Jamaica to the world at large through a series of international hits, with his music gracing the UK pop charts on no less than 7 occasions between 1967 and 1975.

This incredible run of hits included, ‘007’, ‘It Mek’, ‘Pickney Gal’, ‘You Can Get It If You Really Want’, ‘Sing A Little Song’ and the first Jamaican-produced recording to top the British 7” singles listings, ‘Israelites’.

All of these essential recordings feature on the ‘The ‘Essential Artist Collection’, which also includes the very best of his remaining work, with almost every track a major Jamaican best-seller.

Side A
1. Israelites (with The Aces)
2. It Mek (with The Aces)
3. Fu Man Chu (with The Aces)
4. (Where Did It Go) The Song We Used To
5. Beautiful and Dangerous (with The Aces)
6. King of Ska (with The Cherry Pies)
7. Intensified '68 (with The Aces)

Side B
1. You Can Get It If You Really Want
2. Unity (with The Aces)
3. Live and Learn
4. Rudy Got Soul (with The Aces)
5. Get Up Adina (with The Four Aces)
6. Generosity
7. Pretty Africa (with The Aces)

Side C
1. 007 (with The Aces)
2. The First for a Long Time
3. Rude Boy Train (with The Aces)
4. Honour Your Mother and Father
5. It Pays (with The Aces)
6. Problem (with The Aces)
7. Wise Man (with The Aces)

Side D
1. Sing a Little Song
2. Mother Pepper (with The Aces)
3. Mount Zion (with The Four Aces)
4. Licking Stick (with The Aces)
5. Young Generation (with The Aces)
6. Pickney Gal (with The Aces)
7. Jamaica Ska (with The Specials)