Phil Ranelin & Wendell Harrison - Message From The Tribe LP

Phil Ranelin & Wendell Harrison - Message From The Tribe LP

  • $28.00
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Now Again reissue of the classic!

Genius work from the Detroit underground of the 70s – one of the greatest records ever on the now-famous Tribe Records label, and a masterpiece of soul, jazz, and righteous spirit! The session's headed by tenor player Wendell Harrison – and it's got an all-star Motor City lineup that includes Marcus Belgrave, Phil Ranelin, Jeamel Lee, Charles Eubanks, and Charles Moore. The tracks have a spacious spiritual approach that recalls some of the later Archie Shepp on Impulse – a blend of soul jazz with slight touches of electric instrumentation, some vocals, and a very progressive spirit overall – stepping proud in the new freedoms of the 70s, yet still swinging and very groovy


  • Wendell Harrison - tenor sax
  • Phil Ranelin - trombone
  • Charles Moore - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Marcus Belgrave - trumpet
  • Charles Eubanks - piano on Side A
  • Keith Vreeland . piano on Side B
  • Reggie Fields - acoustic bass on Side B
  • William Austin - acoustic bass on Side A
  • Billy Turner - drums
  • Jeamel Lee - vocal